Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

Summary: To clear Microsoft Teams cache, first quit Teams completely, then:

  • On Windows, use the current Teams app data location in File Explorer or the Windows app Reset option.
  • On Mac, remove the appropriate Teams local data for the installed version, then restart Teams.

Similar to other applications, Microsoft Teams also stores cache data (temporary files & app data) locally to help the app load content faster. Sometimes, this cached data gets outdated or corrupted and creates several problems such as slow loading, missing images, displaying outdated information, sign-in issues, or Teams not updating correctly.

If you’re facing any issue, clear Teams cache and restart the application for troubleshooting. However, the process to do so is different for the current Microsoft Teams app and Classic Teams, so you must use the method that matches your installation. For complete assistance on how to clear Teams cache on Windows and Mac, what happens when you delete the Teams cache, and what to try if clearing the cache does not solve the problem, this guide covers it all. Let’s get started!!

What is Microsoft Teams Cache and When Should You Clear It?

You know that cache is temporary data stored on your device so the application does not have to download or process the same information repeatedly. Teams may store locally cached information such as application resources, images, thumbnails, and other temporary data.

You do not normally need to clear Teams cache on a schedule. If some of this information becomes outdated or corrupted, you must clear it to help the application rebuild it. Clear the cache if you experience problems such as:

  • Teams takes unusually long to start
  • Teams displays outdated or missing information
  • Images or thumbnails do not load correctly
  • The desktop application behaves differently from Teams on the web
  • Teams repeatedly encounters a local application error
  • You are experiencing unexplained problems after a Teams update

Note: To fix such problems and improve Teams performance issues, clearing the Teams cache is not a universal solution. If the problem is caused by Microsoft 365 service outages, account permissions, network issues, Conditional Access policies, or organization-wide configuration, you may go through different solutions.

What to Do Before Deleting Microsoft Teams Cache

To avoid mid-process or afterward hassle, you need to make some preparations and implement Microsoft Teams security best practices. Before you delete the Teams cache:

  1. Save any ongoing work that has not been sent or synchronized
  2. Close Microsoft Teams completely via Task Manager or the Quit button
  3. Confirm whether you are using New Teams or Classic Teams
  4. If your organization manages Teams, discuss with your Microsoft 365 admins

How to Clear Teams Cache on Windows: 2 Methods

You must know that the current Microsoft Teams app (New Teams) uses a different cache location from Classic Teams. Understand and choose the method as per your needs:

Method 1: Reset New Teams from Windows Settings

Resetting the Teams application helps you clear Teams cache data more conveniently. Here are the steps you need to follow:

  1. In Windows, go to Settings, then tap on Apps > Installed apps.
  2. Search for Microsoft Teams, tap the three-dot menu next to Teams, and select Advanced options.
  3. Scroll to the Reset section, select Reset.

Once the process completes, open Teams again.

Note: If you reset the new Teams, the app’s data gets deleted along with personalization settings. It affects more than just temporary cache files.

Method 2: Manually Delete New Teams Cache

To clear Teams cache data specifically, you can use this method. Follow the steps below after closing MS Teams completely:

  1. Press Windows + R to open the Run dialog and enter:
    C:\Users\Kernel\AppData\Local\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Microsoft\MSTeams
  2. Press Enter. After finding the cache data, select all folders and data, then delete permanently (CTRL+A+SHIFT+DELETE).
  3. Once you have deleted the Teams cache successfully, start Microsoft Teams again.

Note: How to Delete Classic Teams Cache

If you are working with a legacy Classic Teams installation, the cache location is different:
%appdata%\Microsoft\Teams

Quit Teams, open the location using the Run dialog, delete the cache data, and restart Teams.

How to Clear Teams Cache on macOS

If you’re using new Teams on macOS, you can also delete the Teams cache. Close the Teams application, and after that, follow these steps:

  1. To close Teams, right-click on it in the Dock and select Quit, or press Command + Q.
  2. Open Finder, go to Applications > Utilities, and double-click Terminal.
  • rm -rf ~/Library/Group Containers/UBF8T346G9.com.microsoft.teams
  • rm -rf ~/Library/Containers/com.microsoft.teams2

Once done, close Terminal and then open Microsoft Teams again.

How to Clear Cache in Classic Teams for Mac

For a Classic Teams installation:

  1. Quit Teams, open Terminal, and execute:
    rm -r ~/Library/Application\ Support/Microsoft/Teams

After that, press Return and restart Teams.

Important: Terminal commands can delete files immediately. Make sure you have quit Teams and entered the command exactly as shown before pressing Return.

Does Deleting Teams Cache Delete Chats or Files?

No. Clearing local Teams cache won’t affect Teams chat history or files. You should not be confused with deleting your Microsoft Teams account or uninstalling Teams. However, if you reset the New Teams app, the local application data and personalization settings may be removed. Your Teams conversations, channels, meetings, and organization data are not the same thing as temporary cache files; keep this in mind.

Read More: How to backup Microsoft Teams Chat History

Protect Your Teams Data With an Extra Layer of Protection

By now, one distinction is important: clearing Teams cache is not the same as backing up Teams data. Cache clearing is meant to fix problems with the Teams application on your device. It does not create a recoverable copy of your organization’s Teams data. So, if you are clearing the cache as part of broader Teams maintenance or troubleshooting, you may also want to consider how your organization’s Teams data is being protected. For this purpose, Kernel Microsoft Teams Backup Tool can help you, be it individual or large organizations, to create a separate backup of your Microsoft Teams data. With it, you can prepare yourself for migration along with maintaining an additional copy of business data for recovery.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: Where is Teams cache stored on Windows & Mac?

A: In Windows, Teams cache is stored in local app data storage: C:\Users\Kernel\AppData\Local\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Microsoft\MSTeams. On Mac, run rm -rf ~/Library/Group Containers/UBF8T346G9.com.microsoft.teams.

Q2: How do I clear Teams cache on Mac if the app is frozen or running slow?

A: Open Teminal in Mac and run rm -rf ~/Library/Group Containers/UBF8T346G9.com.microsoft.teams. Your Teams cache will be deleted.

Q3: What should I do if clearing the Microsoft Teams cache does not resolve my login or sync issues?

A: You can try resetting the Teams application if clearing the Microsoft Teams cache does not resolve your login or sync issues. It may work.

Q4: Is it safe to delete Teams cache?

A: Yes, it is safe to delete Teams cache, but you must be aware of what method you are using. Like, locating cache data and then deleting that possesses no issues, while using the Reset option signs you out.

Q5: Should I clear Teams cache regularly?

A: Probably not! There is no need to clear Teams cache regularly. Delete it to improve Teams performance issues.

Q6: Will clearing Teams cache sign me out?

A: If you clear Teams cache by locating cache data, you may not sign out, but with the Reset method, more local data gets removed than simply clearing the cache.

Q7: Does deleting Teams cache remove Teams?

A: No. Deleting cached files does not uninstall the Teams application.

Kernel Microsoft Teams Backup
Related Posts
Google Trust